Man Booker Prize 2010

October 6, 2010 § Leave a comment

Originating in 1969, The Man Booker Prize for Fiction is the literary award, granted to the best, original, full-length novel written in English.  The  Booker Prize is a reputable literary award granted to authors in the British Commonwealth and Ireland and brings recognition and reward, through promotion  and prize money for both book and author. 

On the 7th of September  2010 judges narrowed down the long list of thirteen to these  six authors; Peter Carey, Emma Donoghue, Damon Galgut, Howard Jacobson, Andrea Levy and Tom McCarthy.  for the Man Booker Prize for Fiction. This year the winner will be announced on the 12th of October (2010)and announced and broadcast on BBC News across television, radio and online.

The six books, selected from the Man Booker Prize 2010 are:

  1. Peter Carey Parrot and Olivier in America (Faber and Faber)
  2. Emma Donoghue Room (Picador – Pan Macmillan)
  3. Damon Galgut In a Strange Room (Atlantic Books – Grove Atlantic)
  4. Howard Jacobson The Finkler Question (Bloomsbury)
  5. Andrea Levy The Long Song (Headline Review –
    Headline Publishing Group)
  6. Tom McCarthy C  (Jonathan Cape – Random House)


[The following text has been copied from the Man Booker Website]

Australian author Peter Carey is one of only two authors to have won the prize twice, in 1988 for Oscar and Lucinda and in 2001 for True History of the Kelly Gang. Should he win this year, he would become the only author to have won three times. He was also shortlisted in 1985 for Illywhacker. South African author Damon Galgut has previously been shortlisted for his book The Good Doctor in 2003 and Howard Jacobson has been longlisted twice before for his novels Kalooki Nights in 2006 and Who’s Sorry Now? in 2002. Irish author Emma Donoghue is, at 40, the youngest author on the shortlist.

The winner will receive a cheque for £50,000 and worldwide recognition. Last year’s winning novel, Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel, has now sold over half a million copies in the UK alone. Each of the six shortlisted authors, including the winner, receives £2,500 and a designer bound edition of their shortlisted book.

Chaired by Andrew Motion, former Poet Laureate, the 2010 judges are Rosie Blau, Literary Editor of the Financial Times; Deborah Bull, formerly a dancer, now Creative Director of the Royal Opera House as well as a writer and broadcaster; Tom Sutcliffe, journalist, broadcaster and author and Frances Wilson, biographer and critic.

Last month the prize announced exciting new digital plans for 2010. The Man Booker Prize App is now free to download from the App Store to an Apple iPhone or iPod Touch and is the UK’s first app for a literary prize. The prize has also partnered with T-Mobile via the digital book retailer GoSpoken. T-Mobile users can access content on their mobile phones and GoSpoken has provided free audio extracts from all the 13 longlisted titles which can be downloaded to subscribers’ mobiles.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

What’s this?

You are currently reading Man Booker Prize 2010 at Novel Lines.


%d bloggers like this: